Theater
 Gift Subscriptions

Forums
Visit our NEW! Discussion Forums
(Registration Required)

SUBSCRIBE

FREE Newsletter
'

Want to save money on your broadband? Quick, grab a lifeline from PlusNet. Super-fast up to 20Mb broadband only £9.99 per month. Moving is free - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.
SEARCH
The GMN Shop
Content Archive
The MediaPlayer
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

MEMBERS
 Sign In
 New User Sign Up
 Select a Player

Click on a message title to reply to that subject. Back to the subjects page.

Help - Quartet Recommendations jerky1280
Sun Feb 10 2002 20:16
I am a sophomore in college, we don't have a string group, so I got a few of us together to start a string quartet. We mostly have classical backgrounds. Our violist and our cellist are very good, but the two violins haven't been played in nearly a year. The last two concertos I played in high school were Viotti No. 23 in G, and Bruch Op. 26 in G. Unfortunately, it's been more than a year since I played on a regular basis.

I was wondering if you could recommend a few quartet pieces to get us started. I want to learn Brandenburg #3, but aside from that I really don't know where to start. Although I'm looking for primarily classical pieces, the most fun I ever had was playing Cry of the Celts from Lord of the Dance, so I'm open to non-classical pieces.

re: Help - Quartet Recommendations serenade13
Sun Feb 10 2002 23:03
Interesting! I had never even thought of any of the Brandenburgs transcribed for string quartet. I have to confess to being something of a purist myself but I'm sure it would sound fine and Bach probably wouldn't mind since he transcribed his own (and other composers) work all the time.

As to other recommendations, here are a few of my favorites. Since I'm not a musician myself I have no idea how easy or difficult these might be.