Theater
 Gift Subscriptions

Forums
Visit our NEW! Discussion Forums
(Registration Required)

SUBSCRIBE

FREE Newsletter
'

Want to save money on your broadband? Quick, grab a lifeline from PlusNet. Super-fast up to 20Mb broadband only £9.99 per month. Moving is free - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.
SEARCH
The GMN Shop
Content Archive
The MediaPlayer
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

MEMBERS
 Sign In
 New User Sign Up
 Select a Player

Click on a message title to reply to that subject. Back to the subjects page.

like to introduce myself Joe Townley
Wed Jan 30 2002 23:53
Hello everybody out there in classical land. I'm Joe Townley, a writer and pianist. I used to be a pianist and writer but a hand injury took care of that. But I still play. I'm setting up a website now that will include my books and a couple of RealPlay videos of me playing. My fav composer, without a doubt: Machranonoff, ooops I mean Rachmaninoff. I'm trying to get his Prelude in B-flat ready for the video but it's a struggle. The fingers just don't want to move like they used to. My novel, "On Ghost Trails" is coming out in March. Hope it's a big success. So who like Rachmaninoff around here? Piano Concerto #2 anyone? I just heard Helene Grimaud's new recording with Ashkenazy. Lovely girl. Very talented pianist. Any body a fan of hers besides me? Love to hear from you. BTW, my e-mail is jtownl@aol.com Amity.

re: like to introduce myself serenade13
Thu Jan 31 2002 02:55
Hello. Yes, not one of my top favorites but I do like Rachmaninoff. I have a recording of Rach. playing his own 2nd Piano Concerto. It's awesome! In spite of the very poor sound quality of the old recording I'm spoiled by this performance. I also recently got a 3 CD set of Rachmaninoff's music for unaccompanied choir, and I really love that one. I'm going to look for more of his music for voice.

Lynn

re: like to introduce myself Joe Townley
Thu Jan 31 2002 07:00
Hi Lynn,