GMNYour Arts Network
Home Classical Jazz Opera Ballet Theater World Shop Contests Forums

GMN Premium

 Special Offers
 Best Sellers
 Gift Subscriptions

Visit our NEW! Discussion Forums
(Registration Required)

FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
Content Archive
The MediaPlayer
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

 Sign In
 New User Sign Up
 Select a Player

Janácek, Leos
 Listen To Music
 List/Buy Works

Leos Janácek

(Born; Hukvaldy, 3 July 1854; Died; Moravská Ostrava, 12 Aug 1928). Czech composer. He was a chorister at the Augustinian 'Queen' s' Monastery in Old Brno, where the choirmaster Pavel Krizkovský took a keen interest in his musical education. After completing his basic schooling he trained as a teacher and, except for a period at the Prague Organ School, he spent 1872-9 largely as a schoolteacher and choral conductor in Brno. In 1879 he enrolled at the Leipzig Conservatory, where he developed his interest in composition under the strict and systematic supervision of Leo Grill. After a month in Vienna he returned to Brno in May 1880; there he became engaged to one of his pupils, Zdenka Schulzová, whom he married in July 1881.

In Brno, Janácek took up his former activities, and he also founded and directed an organ school and edited a new musical journal, Hudební listy. After composing his first opera, Sárka, he immersed himself in collecting and studying Moravian folk music, which bore fruit in a series of orchestral suites and dances and in a one-act opera, The Beginning of a Romance. This was favourably received in 1894, but Janácek withdrew it after six performances and set to work on Jenufa.

During the long period of composition of Jenufa (1894-1903), Janácek rethought his approach to opera and to composition in general. He largely abandoned the number opera, integrated folksong firmly into his music and formulated a theory of 'speech-melody', based on the natural rhythms and the rise and fall of the Czech language, which was to influence all his ensuing works and give them a particular colour through their jagged rhythms and lines. Jenufa was soon followed by other operatic ventures, but his reputation in Brno was as a composer of instrumental and choral music and as director of the Organ School. Outside Moravia he was almost unknown until the Prague premičre of Jenufa in 1916. The creative upsurge of a man well into his 60s is explained partly by the success of Jenufa in Prague and abroad, partly by his patriotic pride in the newly acquired independence of his country, and perhaps most of all by his passionate, though generally distant, attachment to Kamila Stösslová, the young wife of an antique dealer in Pisek, Bohemia.

Between 1919 and 1925 Janácek composed three of his finest operas, all on subjects with special resonances for him: Katya Kabanova with its neglected wife who takes a lover, The Cunning Little Vixen with its sympathetic portrayal of animals (and particularly the female fox), and The Makropoulos Affair with the 'ageless' woman who fascinates all men. Each was given first in Brno and soon after in Prague. His 70th birthday was marked by a doctorate from the Masaryk University in Brno. Early in 1926 he wrote the Sinfonietta for orchestra, characteristic in its blocks of sound and its forceful repetitions, and later that year his most important choral work, the Glagolitic Mass. While performance of his music carried his fame abroad, he started work on his last opera, From the House of the Dead, which he did not live to see performed. It received its premičre in April 1930 in a version prepared by his pupils Bretislav Bakala and Osvald Chlubna.

Janácek's reputation outside Czechoslovakia and German-speaking countries was first made as an instrumental composer. He has since come to be regarded not only as a Czech composer worthy to be ranked with Smetana and Dvorák, but also as one of the most substantial and original opera composers of the 20th century.

Operas Sárka (early, perf. 1925); The Beginning of a Romance (1894); Jenufa (1904); Osud (1903-7, perf. 1958); The Excursions of Mr Broucek (1920); Katya Kabanova (1921); The Cunning Little Vixen (1924); The Makropoulos Affair (1926); From the House of the Dead (1930) Vocal music Glagolitic Mass (1926); Diary of One who Disappeared, cycle (1919); cantatas, choruses, sacred pieces

Orchestral music Taras Bulba (1918); Sinfonietta (1926) Piano music Sonata 1.x.1905 (1905); On the Overgrown Path (1908); In the mists (by 1912)

Instrumental music Str Qt no.1, 'Kreutzer Sonata' (1923); Str Qt no.2, 'Intimate Letters' (1928); Mládí [Youth], fl/pic, ob, cl, b cl, hn, bn (1924)
(c)Groves Dictionaries, MacMillan Publishers Limited, UK

 Classical News
Festival Preview - Pigtales in Aspen
A pig with hair to make Goldilocks blush and who is more concerned with true love than becoming sausages. There's meat in Gruber's opera premiered to be premiered in Aspen...

Goodbye to Berlin
Claudio Abbado conducts his Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra for the final time in Vienna to great ovations and celebrations of a top-rank conducting career...

GMN artists prominent at Proms 2002
The BBC Promenade Concerts for 2002 have been announced and, as usual, feature a feast of musical luninaries, with many of the concert highlights coming from GMN's illustrious family...

More Classical News

 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus   GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate · Contact Us · Advertising · News · Links
Home · Register · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · Information Center · Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Fri, Mar 31, 2023 5:33:50 AM US EST
back to top
0.015625 Seconds
v4.0b - - True